Crazy Conversations.

Maybe unusual.  Maybe crazy.  Or weird.  But I had these conversations this past week.  With this person.

She: Dang, how come you’re still alone?

Me:  What do you mean alone?  Of course, I am.  I live alone.

She:  I mean, are you not asking why no one’s here for you?  No one stayed?  No one decided to, you know, promised to take care of you.  Oh i know, they don’t find you worthy! (makes an evil wicked grin then laughs).  These men you’ve been with?  They think you’re not enough for them to surrender their singlehood.  

Me:  Can it not be that they are the wrong ones?  You know, that i have to meet the d-bags and the jerks first before I find the one?

She:  At your age? (Laughs). Should you have not known that when you were like younger?  It’s too late girl.

Me:  What do you mean late?  

She:  You’re past your prime.  Men now looks at you as an unhappy and grouchy single.  Even worst, there will only be two types who will “want” you ( she emphasizes the word want with her hands using the open close parenthesis sign)!

Me:  Of course not,  I maybe past my prime but I am not unhappy and grouchy!

She:  Whatever you say.  Think.  Two types – those single boys (those twenty-somethings whose testosterone are way up high) and those men who are either married but bored with their current state and wants some excitement – you being that (as she points at me) or separated.  Good if they are legally separated.  But those that are not, they also try their luck on you!  

Me:  That bad huh?  Just two types! Well, the twenty-somethings are good for the ego! (i laugh as she makes face).  I’d rather not mess with the twenty-somethings.  They only want fun and someone to fill their blank days.  And I’m not ready to be a cougar. No.  The bored husbands?  Hmm, they are still on that status so no to them too.  I’m not to settle.  

She:  Not to settle?  At your age?  Why would you not?  I bet you can’t even get a date nowadays?

Me:  Yep, i’m not to settle especially if at your own belief I am not good enough and only boys and the bored “wants” me.  Nah,  if such is the case, then I’ll just be single happy with a book on my couch. 

She:  So, you’ve given up huh?

Me:  Nope.  Remember the question in the movie, The Mexican?  When do you say enough is enough?  The answer is always never right? So never. I’ll just hope and wait some more.  I maybe jaded sometimes but I always manage to pull out from that dark pit of loneliness and desperation.  Hey, you are that?

She:  What do you mean I am that?

Me:  You are my loneliness and desperation!  I should, err..most appropriately, I must snap back.

She:  No, you always love me.  You’ve been welcoming me for days now.  So i’ll cling.

Me:  No.  Time for you to go.  Don’t bother me again with your negativity okay?  I am okay.  Sure, I am single and sometimes welcome you but I always kick you out.  You gonna leave now?

She:  I’ll come back when you least expect.  Don’t be too much comfortable on your couch okay?

Me:  Bye.

And then I leave the mirror.

 

 

 

 

 

 

        

  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Crazy Conversations.

  1. I really liked this one. And I loved the simple, beautiful finish. That one last line just changed the whole thing up. This is great stuff. Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog, I really appreciate that. Be happy…

Leave a Reply

